NaNoWriMo is just around the corner!

I think I’ve briefly touched on the National Novel Writing Month contest before; in case I haven’t, I’ll give you the quick rundown: Every November, there is a contest in which anyone who wants to enter is given the task of writing a 50,000 word novel in one month.  I’ve entered for the last three years and I’ve never won; last year I got about halfway done before running out of time.  There is no prize for winning per se, other than the gratification of knowing that you were able to complete a novel!  Let me tell you, as a guy that’s been trying to do this for three straight years now, that gratification will be prize enough.
Oh, there are also people from the official publication houses always hanging around; one of 2006’s winning entries was just made into a feature film.  You may have heard of it?  It’s called Water for Elephants, and it stars that vampire kid that Voldemort murdered.  Jokes aside, if you’ve ever had aspirations of becoming a novelist, this is the event for you.  It’s all about quantity over quality; don’t worry that your book sucks and contradicts itself from page to page and the characters are inconsistent and without defining features.  That’s what the second draft is for.  NaNoWriMo is all about channeling that raw energy onto the page.  If you’ve ever wanted to write a book, or if you’re just looking for a great challenge to keep yourself disciplined for 30 days, or if you’re stranded on a remote desert island with only a volleyball and a word processor to keep the madness away, this is something you should try.
I know I will!

 

…again.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo is just around the corner!

  1. This made me chuckle: “it stars that vampire kid that Voldemort murdered”!

    I had no idea that ‘Water for Elephants’ started out life as a NaNoWriMo novel – how incredible is that!? I’ll be on my second attempt this year having lost at a valiant (in my eyes) 16K last year. This time round I want to beat that marker – if I do that then I’ll be happy.

    The preference, though, would definitely be finish past 50K, get the novel published, get it optioned, get some famous kid to star in the movie, earn enough money to give up job and write for a living. Just saying, y’know, in case you were wondering…

    Good luck, anyhow!

Leave a Reply

