On proper research and government watch lists.

So, as I’m preparing for my NaNoWriMo quest this year, I’ve been gathering quite a few materials to help me to understand the mindset of an anarchist.  Now, I don’t believe that those 4chan idiots are a credible force of anarchy, so I’m not basing anything in my novel on them.  When I write, I prefer to not make broad generalizations that alienate potential readers, so I’d rather not base any characters on archetypes or things I read about, so as not to misrepresent anything.  With that in mind, I’ve been gathering materials that I believe anarchists might read.  This, of course, has led to quite a few new books joining my collection, including (but not limited to):

  • The Anarchist’s Cookbook (both the FBI ‘redacted’ version and the bomb-centric version,
  • Robert Greene’s The 48 Laws of Power,
  • Machiavelli’s The Prince,
  • Ekran’s The Avenger’s Handbook, and
  • Dianetics.
I’ve also included a few older texts, some great conspiracy theory books, and, just to round things out, The Constitution, the Amendments, and Howard Zinn’s People’s History of the United States.  Now, any good writer needs to surround himself with as much information on his subject matter as he or she possibly can, so I have no qualms about collecting this stuff.  Of course, God forbid I should get run over in the street and this stuff be found in my bag; I’m a writer and I’d really love to be remembered as a writer, and not just some crazy nut who hates AMURRICA and FREEDOM and JESUS and PUPPIES.
Leave a Reply

