My new E-Reader

So, the wife surprised me the other day and bought me the Sony Pocket Reader at Radio Shack (the $50 holiday sale didn’t hurt!).

Now, I love books.  I LOVE books.  I love the smell of books, I love the weight of a book, I love paper, I love the satisfying feeling of turning that last page and closing the back cover on a book you just finished.  I will even go so far as to say that I can identify at least three or four different inks through smell alone from having sniffed so many books over the years.

Now… having said all that… and having been one of those people who swore up and down that I’d never betray books and get one of those abominations of technology…

This.  Thing. is awesome.

Seriously.  I’ve currently got about 35 books on it (not just skinny little pamphlets, either; I’m carrying around the complete Sherlock Holmes, the complete works of H.P. Lovecraft, and about three or four books of the poetry of William Blake) as well as all of the curriculum I currently teach, six course’s worth.  I’ll give you a great visual example of what that looks like.

Here’s my old curriculum:

Le Old & Busted

…And here’s that same curriculum on the reader:

Le New Hawtness.

Just for the sake of clarification: before I came into possession of the e-reader, I had to print out that same binder’s worth of material every ten weeks.  That’s a LOT of wasted paper; seriously, at the end of every mod, we’d dump the binders in the recycling bins and print out new ones the following Monday.  Technically not all wasted, since it was being recycled, I suppose, but still, I feel much more eco-friendly using this reader.  I feel like, if Treebeard and his merry band of Ents were to go picking fights with someone, they might at the very least make mine a quick death as opposed to a long and drawn-out one.

Did I mention that I’ve got a HUGE library on this thing?  Besides the Holmes stories/novels and the Lovecraft collection, I’m also carrying around several books of poetry, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, the Constitution of the United States and the Amendments, the entire John Carter of Mars series, some self-help books, Machiavelli’s The Prince, The Art of War, A shlocky Da Vinci Code wannabe, 10 D&D manuals, the aforementioned six-course college curriculum, two collections of Norse mythology, all of the books from the game Skyrim, (which in and of itself tops out at 1,062 pages,) Alexandre Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo, all of Grimm’s Fairy Tales, Hamlet… and that’s only page two of the thing’s total library.

It holds a MASSIVE amount of books in there… and I’ve not even filled it half way yet.  It is, simply put, the most amazing technological toy I’ve ever owned.  Over the last couple of days, it’s become another limb; I’ve scarcely put it down.  If it was waterproof I’d probably take it in the shower.  Am I ready to give up books entirely yet?  Hardly; I’ve got Stephen King’s brand new novel, 11/22/63, waiting in the hall closet for me to read (another Christmas present!) as well as the latter half of Carl Sagan’s Contact to finish, waiting for me at home.  (By the way, if you haven’t read Contact, make an effort to find and read it; it’s written by Carl freaking Sagan.)

I’m never going to give up reading traditional books… but then again, now that I have used an e-reader, I’ll never quite be able to go without one again.  It’s very freeing to be able to carry an entire library around in your pocket and not even come close to breaking a sweat… just don’t be like me and try to read every single book you cram into it at the same time.

One thought on “My new E-Reader

  1. I didn’t know you like William Blake! I fell in love with him in high school, and even more in college.

    Question, though: does it taste good? Mine just tastes like plastic.

Leave a Reply

